Office of the Mayor

MayorThe Mayor is the senior political office bearer of a municipality. The work of the Council is co-ordinated by a Mayor who is elected by Council. The Mayor is assisted by councilors in an Executive Committee (elected by council) or a Mayoral Committee (appointed by the mayor). The Mayor together with the Executive or Mayoral Committee also oversees the work of the Municipal Manager and department heads. The Mayor’s office also oversees over the Special Programmes Unit (SPU), Sport and Intergovernmental Relations through the Manager in the office.

Mayor – Cllr Zingiswa Rasmeni
Secretary - Ms Phelisa Ncapayi - 040 330 0100 -